Cosleeping and Biological Imperatives: Why Human Babies Do Not and Should Not Sleep Alone (via Neuroanthropology)

Now that I have my own kid I empathize with how sensitive women can be about the choices they make regarding their children. Being a non-parenting social worker for many years and working with teenagers, I was often faced with having to subtly draw out information from parents about their habits, routines and practices lest my questions sound judgmental and invasive. Quite frankly, they were invasive, but there was no way around it in my line of work. I always tried to be courteous and understanding of their feelings, but having since had a child and been inundated with a mass amount of (unwanted) opinions I get why a mother or father would never really share what they do and how they do it as a family.

And there is no hotter topic than co-sleeping. It’s a hot one for me because I am such a big believer in safe co-sleeping practices and their benefits. Yet, there are so many people against it. The Man trusted my instincts from the beginning (poor guy), but I don’t think he really knew what he was getting into when he shared our habits with another family member who unapologetically berated our parenting style. Thank you, Uncle So and So. You’ve ensured we’ll never share anything with you again. Well, here’s the proof that what we do and how we do it is quite forward thinking, mind you; a style of parenting that actually protects and furthers our genes rather than contributes to the crazy sleep disorder statistic that plagues the U.S. today. So neh-neh-neh-neh-neh-na, plthththt.

Cosleeping and Biological Imperatives: Why Human Babies Do Not and Should Not Sleep Alone By James J. McKenna Ph.D. Edmund P. Joyce C.S.C. Chair in Anthropology Director, Mother-Baby Behavioral Sleep Laboratory University of Notre Dame Where a baby sleeps is not as simple as current medical discourse and recommendations against cosleeping in some western societies want it to be. And there is good reason why. I write here to explain why the pediatric recommendations on forms of cosleeping such as bedsharing will and should remain mixed … Read More

via Neuroanthropology

Leave a comment